Bank of America Corporation announced its financial results for the second quarter ended June 30, 2026, reporting net income of $9.1 billion, or $1.21 per diluted share, according to a disclosure filed with regulators on July 14, 2026. The announcement was accompanied by an investor conference call and webcast held the same day, along with supplemental presentation materials published on the company's website. The results represent a significant earnings event for one of the largest financial institutions in the United States, and investors across the company's broad range of listed equity and preferred securities will be closely reviewing the figures. The NASDAQ-listed Income Capital Obligation Notes, trading under ticker MER-PK, are among the many Bank of America securities affected by the company's overall financial health and capital position.

Key Points

  • NASDAQ: MER-PK (Income Capital Obligation Notes initially due December 15, 2066, issued by Bank of America Corporation)
  • Bank of America reported second quarter 2026 net income of $9.1 billion, or $1.21 per diluted share, for the quarter ended June 30, 2026
  • Results were announced on July 14, 2026, alongside presentation materials and supplemental financial information made available on the company's website
  • Investors may be watching how the reported earnings affect the company's capital ratios, preferred dividend coverage, and the overall creditworthiness supporting its broad range of listed securities including MER-PK

Bank of America's Second Quarter 2026 Earnings Headline Figures

Bank of America Corporation disclosed on July 14, 2026 that it generated net income of $9.1 billion for the second quarter ended June 30, 2026. On a per-share basis, this translated to $1.21 per diluted share, figures that were formally announced via a press release attached to the company's current report filed with regulators that same day. The press release was simultaneously made available on the corporation's official website for public access.

The company identified the reporting period as the quarter ending June 30, 2026, meaning these results reflect approximately three months of operating performance across all of Bank of America's business segments. The corporation noted in its disclosure that the press release is deemed "filed" for purposes of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, giving the figures formal legal standing with respect to liability under federal securities law. Beyond the headline net income and diluted earnings per share numbers, the company did not disclose additional financial line-item figures within the body of the current report filing itself.

Investor Conference Call and Webcast Held Alongside the Announcement

In conjunction with the earnings announcement, Bank of America Corporation disclosed that it held an investor conference call and webcast on July 14, 2026 — the same date as the filing — to discuss financial results for the second quarter ended June 30, 2026. The call was described as covering the press release as well as other matters relating to the corporation, providing a live forum for institutional investors, analysts, and other market participants to engage with the second quarter results in greater depth.

The company also made available on its website presentation materials described as containing certain historical and forward-looking information relating to the corporation, filed as Exhibit 99.2. Additionally, the corporation furnished supplemental information materials containing additional detail about its financial results for the second quarter of 2026, filed as Exhibit 99.3. The corporation expressly stated that it does not undertake any obligation to update any of the information provided in those supplemental materials, and it disclaims any duty to do so. Investors and analysts who accessed these materials are advised to note that all information within them is presented as of the particular dates referenced therein.

MER-PK: Bank of America's Income Capital Obligation Notes and Their Context

The NASDAQ ticker MER-PK corresponds to the Income Capital Obligation Notes initially due December 15, 2066, issued by Bank of America Corporation and listed on the New York Stock Exchange. These notes are among a broad range of capital securities issued by Bank of America and its related entities that are registered under Section 12(b) of the Securities Act. As hybrid capital instruments with a very long-dated maturity, the notes are sensitive to the financial condition and creditworthiness of Bank of America as the issuer and guarantor.

The filing lists these notes alongside the company's common stock and a wide array of preferred stock depositary shares, floating rate hybrid income term securities, and medium-term step-up callable notes. The breadth of Bank of America's listed securities underscores the complexity of its capital structure and the relevance of quarterly earnings disclosures to holders of instruments across different parts of that structure. Holders of the MER-PK notes, like holders of the company's other debt and hybrid capital instruments, may review the reported $9.1 billion net income figure as part of their ongoing assessment of the issuer's financial condition. The company did not disclose specific coverage ratios or capital adequacy metrics within the body of the current report filing itself.

Overview of Bank of America's Extensive Registered Securities Portfolio

The disclosure identifies a notably wide array of securities registered under Section 12(b) of the Securities Act, all trading on the New York Stock Exchange. These include Bank of America's common stock (BAC), multiple series of non-cumulative preferred stock depositary shares spanning Series E, GG, HH, KK, LL, NN, PP, QQ, and SS with fixed dividend rates ranging from 4.125% to 6.000%, and the 7.25% Non-Cumulative Perpetual Convertible Preferred Stock, Series L.

The company also lists depositary shares tied to Bank of America Corporation Floating Rate Non-Cumulative Preferred Stock across Series 1, 2, 4, and 5, trading under the BML prefix on the NYSE. Further, the filing identifies Floating Rate Preferred Hybrid Income Term Securities of BAC Capital Trust XIII, 5.63% Fixed to Floating Rate Preferred Hybrid Income Term Securities of BAC Capital Trust XIV, and Senior Medium-Term Notes, Series A, Step Up Callable Notes due November 28, 2031, issued by BofA Finance LLC with a guarantee from Bank of America Corporation. The sheer number and variety of registered securities illustrates the significant role Bank of America plays across both equity and fixed-income markets.

Regulation FD Disclosure and Supplemental Materials Status

The corporation's announcement on July 14, 2026 was also made pursuant to Regulation FD, which governs the fair and timely disclosure of material information to all market participants simultaneously. Under this regulation, the company furnished its presentation materials and supplemental financial information alongside the press release, ensuring that the broader investment community had simultaneous access to the same information provided to participants on the investor conference call and webcast.

Importantly, the filing explicitly notes that the information provided under the Regulation FD item — including the presentation materials (Exhibit 99.2) and supplemental information (Exhibit 99.3) — is "furnished" rather than "filed" for purposes of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. This is a meaningful legal distinction: furnished materials are not subject to the same liability standards as formally filed documents, and they are not automatically incorporated by reference into filings under the Securities Act of 1933. Investors reviewing these supplemental materials should bear this distinction in mind when assessing the legal weight and liability framework surrounding the data they contain.

Signature and Authorization of the July 14, 2026 Current Report

The current report was signed on July 14, 2026 by Johnbull E. Okpara, identified in the filing as Chief Accounting Officer of Bank of America Corporation. The signature confirms that the report was duly authorized and filed on behalf of the registrant in accordance with the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The involvement of the Chief Accounting Officer in signing the disclosure is consistent with standard practice for this type of results announcement filing.

Bank of America Corporation is incorporated in Delaware and lists its principal executive offices at 100 North Tryon Street, Charlotte, North Carolina 28255. The company operates under Commission File Number 1-6523 and IRS Employer Identification Number 56-0906609. These details confirm the registrant's identity and legal domicile as part of the formal disclosure record associated with the July 14, 2026 announcement. The company did not indicate any changes to its name or principal address since its most recent prior report.

Preferred Stock Series Coverage and Dividend Security Considerations

For holders of Bank of America's numerous preferred stock series, quarterly net income figures carry particular relevance because they speak to the company's ongoing capacity to fund non-cumulative preferred dividends. The corporation's disclosure of $9.1 billion in net income for the second quarter of 2026 represents the top-line earnings figure from which such dividend obligations would ultimately be supported. Non-cumulative preferred stocks, by their nature, do not accumulate unpaid dividends, making current-period earnings an important reference point for income investors.

The filing lists preferred series with fixed dividend rates including 6.000% (Series GG), 5.875% (Series HH), 5.375% (Series KK), 5.000% (Series LL), 4.375% (Series NN), 4.125% (Series PP), 4.250% (Series QQ), and 4.750% (Series SS), each represented by depositary shares at a 1/1,000th interest per share. Additionally, floating rate series under the BML prefix are also listed. The company did not disclose specific preferred dividend declaration details within the body of this particular current report. Investors holding any of these preferred instruments may be watching for any separate declarations or announcements related to dividends on their specific series.

Hybrid Capital Instruments and Trust Securities in Bank of America's Capital Structure

Among the more distinctive elements of Bank of America's listed securities portfolio are the hybrid capital instruments associated with BAC Capital Trust XIII and BAC Capital Trust XIV, which issued Floating Rate and 5.63% Fixed to Floating Rate Preferred Hybrid Income Term Securities, respectively. These trust preferred securities, which trade on the New York Stock Exchange under the tickers BAC/PF and BAC/PG, represent interests in statutory trusts whose obligations are guaranteed by Bank of America Corporation. Their performance and market value are closely tied to the parent company's credit profile.

Similarly, the MER-PK Income Capital Obligation Notes due December 15, 2066 represent another form of long-dated hybrid capital. As the filing makes clear, these instruments are registered securities of Bank of America Corporation, and the corporation's quarterly financial results bear directly on investor sentiment and analytical assessments of these instruments. The company did not disclose specific details about any actions or changes related to these individual securities in this particular announcement beyond confirming their ongoing registration status and the broader quarterly earnings outcome.

Bank of America Corporation's Delaware Incorporation and Regulatory Standing

Bank of America Corporation is organized as a Delaware corporation and has been a registrant with federal securities regulators for many decades, a status reflected by its Commission File Number 1-6523. As one of the largest bank holding companies in the United States, it is subject to extensive federal and state banking regulation in addition to securities law requirements. Its filing obligations under both Section 13 and Section 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 ensure that material corporate developments — including quarterly financial results — are promptly disclosed to the investing public.

The current report filed on July 14, 2026 confirms that Bank of America is not an emerging growth company as defined by relevant SEC rules, and it has not elected any extended transition period for compliance with new or revised financial accounting standards. This status reflects the corporation's position as a large, established financial institution subject to the full weight of applicable reporting and accounting standards without the accommodations available to smaller or newer public companies. Investors in any of the company's listed instruments can accordingly expect the disclosures to conform to the most rigorous applicable standards.

Immediate Market Implications for MER-PK and Related Bank of America Securities

The announcement of $9.1 billion in net income and $1.21 diluted earnings per share for the second quarter of 2026 represents the primary new financial data point disclosed in this announcement from Bank of America Corporation. For holders of MER-PK — the Income Capital Obligation Notes due December 15, 2066 — as well as for investors across the company's many other registered preferred and hybrid capital instruments, the reported earnings figures form part of the backdrop against which the financial health of the issuer is assessed on an ongoing basis.

The immediate share price impact was not clear from available public information. Investors monitoring Bank of America's broad range of NYSE-listed securities, from common stock to the various preferred depositary share series and hybrid capital instruments, will likely look to the supplemental financial information and presentation materials made available on the company's website for additional context beyond the headline net income and diluted earnings per share figures disclosed in the filing. The company did not disclose segment-level results, revenue figures, provision for credit losses, or capital ratio data within the body of the current report filing itself.