Bank of Montreal has issued $1,224,000 in Senior Medium-Term Notes, Series K, structured as autocallable barrier notes with memory coupons and linked to three State Street sector ETFs: Industrial, Technology, and Consumer Staples. The notes, priced on July 17, 2026, offer monthly contingent interest payments at 1.0667% per month if certain performance thresholds are met, but carry significant downside risk including potential loss of principal at maturity and automatic early redemption if reference assets rally. The offering represents a structured product designed for investors comfortable with complex payoff profiles and credit exposure to Bank of Montreal.
Key Points
- NYSE: WTIU
- Bank of Montreal issued $1,224,000 in autocallable barrier notes due July 24, 2028, linked to XLI, XLK, and XLP sector ETFs
- Contingent coupon rate is 1.0667% per month if all three reference assets remain above their coupon barrier levels; memory coupon feature allows missed payments to accrue and pay later if conditions improve
- Notes automatically redeem if all three reference assets close above call level (100% of initial level) on any observation date beginning July 21, 2027; at maturity, investors face 1% principal loss for every 1% decline of the worst-performing ETF below its initial level if no trigger event occurs
Structured Product Architecture and Linkage to Multiple Sector Indices
The notes issued by Bank of Montreal establish a structured investment vehicle tied to three distinct State Street sector ETFs, each tracking a different component of the S&P 500. The Industrial Select Sector SPDR (XLI) carries an initial level of $179.41, the Technology Select Sector SPDR (XLK) an initial level of $175.59, and the Consumer Staples Select Sector SPDR (XLP) an initial level of $85.19, all as of the July 17, 2026 pricing date. The product's design relies on a "least performing" methodology, meaning the worst-performing of the three reference assets determines both coupon payment eligibility and final maturity payoff. This multiasset approach introduces diversification across three economically sensitive sectors while simultaneously creating path dependency in investor returns.
The disclosure indicates that investors should understand the notes are not equivalent to direct ownership of the underlying ETFs. Rather, the structured wrapper introduces embedded options, barrier levels, and redemption mechanics that fundamentally alter return profiles compared to straightforward equity exposure. Bank of Montreal subsidiary BMO Capital Markets Corp. acts as the agent for the offering, with the notes issued in minimum denominations of $1,000 and trading in integral multiples of that amount. The notes will not trade on any securities exchange, limiting secondary market liquidity and pricing transparency for holders seeking to exit prior to maturity or automatic redemption.
Contingent Coupon Mechanics and Memory Coupon Accumulation
The coupon structure ties monthly interest payments to performance of all three reference assets against their respective coupon barrier levels, each set at 70% of initial levels. For XLI, the coupon barrier is $125.59; for XLK, $122.91; and for XLP, $59.63. On each observation date (three trading days prior to the scheduled coupon payment date), if all three assets close at or above their barriers, the note pays a contingent coupon of $10.667 per $1,000 in principal amount. The contingent interest rate of 1.0667% per month translates to approximately 12.80% per annum if all coupons are paid.
A critical feature of the design is the memory coupon mechanism. If any reference asset falls below its coupon barrier on an observation date, the coupon for that period is not paid on the scheduled payment date. However, the unpaid coupon does not disappear; rather, it accrues in memory and becomes payable on a future contingent coupon payment date if all reference assets subsequently breach back above their respective barrier levels. This memory feature extends throughout the life of the notes, meaning investors could receive multiple months of accrued coupons at once if performance recovers. However, the filing states that if any reference asset remains below its coupon barrier on every single observation date during the term, no contingent coupons will be paid at all, creating a scenario where investors receive zero interest despite the stated annual rate.
Automatic Redemption Mechanism and Call Feature
Beginning July 21, 2027, the notes incorporate an automatic redemption feature that activates if all three reference assets simultaneously close above their call levels—defined as 100% of their respective initial levels—on any observation date. Once triggered, redemption occurs on the following contingent coupon payment date (the "Call Settlement Date"), at which point investors receive their full principal amount plus the contingent coupon otherwise due for that period. After automatic redemption, the notes cease to exist and investors receive no further payments.
This mechanism effectively caps investor upside participation in the reference assets. While an investor who owns the underlying ETFs directly can participate fully in rallies above initial prices, the holder of these notes loses all participation beyond the initial level once the call is triggered. The timing of the call feature—beginning approximately one year after pricing—means investors face uncertainty about how long they retain exposure and whether they will benefit from the contingent coupon mechanism during that window. An investor purchasing at $1,000 and receiving the note redeemed at $1,000 plus one month of coupon would have forgone any appreciation of the reference assets during the holding period, representing an opportunity cost that the filing does not quantify but which investors should consider.
Principal Loss Mechanics at Maturity Without Early Redemption
If the notes are not automatically redeemed before the July 24, 2028 maturity date, investors do not receive principal protection. Instead, the payment at maturity depends on whether a "Trigger Event" occurs, defined as the final level of any reference asset falling below its trigger level (each set at 70% of initial level, identical to the coupon barrier level) on the valuation date of July 19, 2028. If a trigger event has occurred for any reference asset, the investor suffers a loss equal to the percentage decline of the worst-performing asset from its initial level to its final level.
For example, if the Industrial Select Sector SPDR declines from its initial level of $179.41 to a final level of $170.451 (representing a 5% decline), and the other two assets perform better, the investor would lose 5% of principal, or $50 on a $1,000 investment, receiving $950 at maturity. The filing specifies that if the least performing reference asset declines 1% from its initial level, investors lose 1% of principal; a 10% decline results in a 10% principal loss, and so forth. The filing does not disclose a floor or cap on downside loss, suggesting that in an extreme scenario where one reference asset falls 50% or more, investor loss could be severe. The final contingent coupon, if payable, would be paid alongside this reduced principal amount.
Pricing, Distribution, and Initial Valuation Assessment
The notes were priced to the public at 100% of principal amount on July 17, 2026, with an agent's commission of 0.40%, equating to $4,896 on the total $1,224,000 offering. Bank of Montreal's net proceeds totaled $1,219,104 after the commission. The pricing supplement discloses an estimated initial value of $981.83 per $1,000 in principal amount based on the terms at pricing, indicating an embedded loss of approximately $18.17 per $1,000 relative to the public offering price. This valuation gap reflects the cost of the embedded options, credit risk, and illiquidity built into the structured product.
The disclosure notes that certain fee-based advisory accounts received adjusted pricing between $996 and $1,000 per $1,000 in principal amount, with dealers in those channels potentially waiving portions of their selling concessions. BMO Capital Markets Corp. acts as the distribution agent. The notes are unsecured obligations of Bank of Montreal and are not FDIC-insured, CDIC-insured, or protected by any governmental deposit insurance scheme. All payments depend entirely on Bank of Montreal's creditworthiness and ability to meet its obligations through the maturity date.
Key Dates and Observation Schedule
The notes follow a structured timeline with specific milestones affecting investor returns. The settlement date was July 22, 2026, three trading days after pricing. Contingent coupon payment dates occur on the 24th of each month (or the next business day if that date is not a business day), beginning August 24, 2026 and continuing through the maturity date of July 24, 2028. Observation dates, which determine whether coupons are paid and whether the automatic redemption feature is triggered, occur three trading days prior to each scheduled coupon payment date.
The automatic redemption observation dates begin on July 21, 2027—one year after settlement—meaning the notes could be called away as early as September 2027 if conditions align. The valuation date for determining final payoff at maturity is set for July 19, 2028, three trading days before the maturity date of July 24, 2028. This schedule compresses all investor decision points and final performance assessment into a roughly two-year window, creating a relatively short-lived product with an accelerated timeline compared to traditional bonds.
Credit Risk and Lack of Capital Protection
A critical risk disclosure highlighted in the pricing supplement is that all payments on the notes are subject to the credit risk of Bank of Montreal. Unlike a traditional savings account or bank deposit, these notes are unsecured obligations of the bank, meaning if Bank of Montreal faces financial distress or insolvency, investors could lose their entire investment regardless of the performance of the reference assets. The filing explicitly states the notes are not savings accounts or deposits insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, or any other governmental or private insurance entity.
The notes carry no principal guarantee even under normal operating conditions. If held to maturity without automatic redemption and with a trigger event, investors face principal loss proportional to the decline of the worst-performing reference asset. Combined with credit risk, this creates a dual-loss scenario: investors could lose money both because the underlying assets underperform and because the issuer defaults. The filing indicates investors should be willing to lose some or all principal at maturity, framing this outcome as an acknowledged feature of the product design rather than a contingency.
Comparison to Direct ETF Investment and Illiquidity Considerations
The structured note design introduces several friction points relative to direct ownership of the three underlying sector ETFs. Investors in the notes cannot participate in appreciation beyond the initial levels due to the automatic call feature, yet they absorb principal losses on declines without the corresponding benefits of ongoing dividend income or voting rights that accompany direct ETF ownership. Additionally, the coupon barrier and trigger level both sit at 70% of initial levels, meaning significant deterioration must occur before the memory coupon feature activates or the investor avoids principal loss at maturity.
Illiquidity represents another material consideration. The pricing supplement states the notes will not be listed on any securities exchange. This absence from exchange trading means secondary market prices may be difficult to obtain, bid-ask spreads could be wide, and selling prior to maturity or redemption may be impossible or extremely costly. An investor unable to hold the notes until redemption or maturity faces potential forced liquidation at unfavorable prices. The estimated initial value of $981.83 per $1,000 already reflects a discount to the $1,000 public offering price, and that discount could widen significantly if market conditions shift or if credit concerns about Bank of Montreal emerge.
Risk Factors and Investor Suitability
The pricing supplement references additional detailed risk disclosures beginning on page P-5 of the document, with further risk factors in the product supplement (page PS-6) and prospectus supplement (page S-1). The brief risk summary in the public-facing section of the document acknowledges that investors should be willing to have notes automatically redeemed, should be willing to forego participation in appreciation of the reference assets, and should be willing to lose some or all principal. These framing statements indicate the product is designed for investors with specific risk tolerance and return expectations, not for broad retail audiences seeking traditional capital preservation.
The structure may appeal to investors seeking enhanced yield in a low-interest-rate environment, those with neutral to bearish near-term outlooks for the three sectors but confidence in their longer-term value, or those comfortable with complexity and embedded option risk in exchange for the possibility of monthly coupon payments. Conversely, the product is likely unsuitable for conservative investors, those seeking liquidity, investors requiring principal protection, or those uncomfortable with credit risk concentrations in Bank of Montreal. The disclosure does not provide guidance on suitability or recommend any particular investor profile, leaving that determination to intermediaries and individual investor judgment.
Settlement, Denomination, and Ongoing Administration
The notes settled on July 22, 2026, three trading days after the July 17, 2026 pricing date, following standard market convention for equity-linked securities. They are issued in minimum denominations of $1,000 and in integral multiples thereof, making the product accessible to institutional investors and high-net-worth individuals but less convenient for smaller retail accounts. The CUSIP number for the notes is 06376LQN9, enabling investors to track and identify the security in broker systems and market data terminals.
The issuer did not disclose details about ongoing administration, calculation agents, or dispute resolution mechanisms in the pricing supplement excerpt provided. Investors seeking clarity on these operational aspects would need to consult the full prospectus supplement and prospectus documents referenced in the filing header. The absence of exchange listing means administrative questions may need to be directed to Bank of Montreal or BMO Capital Markets Corp. directly, without the standardized infrastructure and transparency provided by exchange-traded products.




Please wait processing your request...