Bank of Montreal has priced $1.44 billion in Senior Medium-Term Notes, Series K, designed as autocallable structured products linked to the performance of the NASDAQ-100 Index, Russell 2000 Index, and Dow Jones Industrial Average. The notes, which settled on July 28, 2026, offer investors an approximate 11% annual return if automatically redeemed, but carry significant downside risk including potential loss of principal if a trigger event occurs. The offering underscores the bank's continued engagement in structured product distribution and reflects investor appetite for equity-linked securities despite embedded complexities and credit risk considerations.
Key Points
- NYSE: WTIU
- Bank of Montreal issued $1.44 billion in autocallable structured notes with five-year maturity, due July 28, 2031
- Notes are linked to the least performing of three major equity indices: NASDAQ-100 (initial level 28,454.81), Russell 2000 (2,940.163), and Dow Jones Industrial Average (51,711.65)
- Automatic redemption commences July 29, 2027, if all reference assets trade at or above their call levels on any observation date, with call amounts ranging from $110 to $550 per note
- Investors face full principal loss exposure if any reference asset declines more than 30% from its initial level at maturity (trigger level set at 70% of initial level)
Structure and Redemption Mechanics of the Autocallable Notes
The notes represent a complex structured product with multiple conditional redemption pathways. Beginning July 29, 2027, the notes will be automatically redeemed on the first observation date (occurring semiannually) when all three reference assets simultaneously trade at or above 100% of their respective initial levels. Upon automatic redemption, investors receive their $1,000 principal plus an applicable call amount. The call amounts escalate across observation dates, starting at $110 per note in July 2027 and increasing by $55 every six months, reaching $550 per note at the final valuation date in July 2031.
The pricing supplement discloses that these call amounts represent an approximate 11% annual return to investors. However, the mechanics contain a critical contingency: all three reference assets must simultaneously satisfy the call condition on a given observation date. If even one index fails to reach its call level, the notes continue to maturity without redemption. This structure means investors surrender any opportunity to participate in upside gains beyond the predetermined call amounts, while accepting the possibility that automatic redemption may never occur if market conditions do not align with the call trigger.
Principal Risk Exposure and Trigger Event Mechanics
The disclosure reveals a material asymmetry between upside and downside outcomes. If the notes are not automatically redeemed and the closing level of any reference asset on the valuation date falls below 70% of its initial level (the trigger level), investors face what the filing terms a "Trigger Event." The trigger levels are set at 19,918.37 for the NASDAQ-100 Index, 2,058.114 for the Russell 2000 Index, and 36,198.16 for the Dow Jones Industrial Average. In such scenarios, investors lose 1% of principal for each 1% the least performing reference asset declines from its initial level.
This formulation means total principal loss is possible. For example, if the least performing index declines 100% (to zero), the investor receives nothing at maturity. The filing explicitly states the payment at maturity could "be zero," acknowledging the full-loss scenario. Importantly, the risk is determined by the least performing asset—the index with the lowest percentage change—meaning investors face exposure to the worst performer among the three indices, not an average or diversified outcome. This design transfers significant market risk to note holders while the bank retains hedging optionality through its subsidiary BMO Capital Markets Corp.
Credit Risk and Unsecured Nature of the Obligations
The disclosure emphasizes that all payments on the notes are subject to the credit risk of Bank of Montreal. The notes are unsecured obligations, meaning they are not backed by specific collateral or Bank of Montreal assets. Consequently, if the bank faces financial distress, investors would be unsecured creditors competing for recovery in any bankruptcy or resolution proceeding. The filing explicitly states the notes are "not savings accounts or deposits that are insured by the United States Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Deposit Insurance Fund, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency."
This credit risk element compounds the structural risks inherent in the note design. Investors bear two layers of risk: the market performance of the three reference assets and the creditworthiness of Bank of Montreal. The pricing supplement does not disclose any hedging mechanisms or collateral arrangements that might mitigate this counterparty exposure, leaving investors entirely reliant on the bank's continued solvency and willingness to perform at maturity and on any automatic redemption date.
Pricing and Compensation Structure for Intermediaries
The filing discloses that the notes were priced at 100% to the public, with Bank of Montreal receiving 96.375% of the principal amount after agent commissions. The agent's commission totaled 3.625% of the $1.44 billion principal amount, or $52.2 million. Additionally, the disclosure reveals that certain dealers who purchased notes for sale to fee-based advisory accounts offered pricing between $963.75 and $1,000 per $1,000 principal amount, indicating variable pricing depending on distribution channels.
Bank of Montreal or its affiliates also agreed to pay referral fees to certain dealers of up to 0.50% of the principal amount in connection with the distribution of the notes. BMO Capital Markets Corp. serves as both the agent and calculation agent for the offering. The pricing supplement notes that the estimated initial value of the notes, based on the disclosed terms, was $946.93 per $1,000 in principal amount on the pricing date. This valuation gap between the 100% public offering price and the estimated intrinsic value suggests investors paid a premium above the calculated fair value, compensating the bank and intermediaries for distribution and hedging costs.
Initial Levels and Performance Measurement Framework
The notes measure performance against initial levels established on the pricing date of July 23, 2026. For the NASDAQ-100 Index, the initial level was set at 28,454.81. The Russell 2000 Index initial level was 2,940.163, and the Dow Jones Industrial Average initial level was 51,711.65. All subsequent performance calculations—whether for call level determination, trigger event assessment, or final payoff determination—reference these levels as the baseline.
The calculation agent, identified as BMO Capital Markets Corp., holds responsibility for determining final levels and verifying whether call conditions or trigger events have occurred. The filing indicates that adjustments to reference asset levels may occur "in certain circumstances," though the specific circumstances are referenced as being described in the product supplement rather than disclosed in this pricing supplement. This delegation of calculation authority to a bank subsidiary creates additional operational and counterparty risk, as the investor's ultimate payout depends on the calculation agent's determinations.
Observation Dates and Semi-Annual Call Opportunities
The notes feature nine observation dates spanning the five-year life of the notes, occurring semi-annually beginning July 29, 2027 and concluding at the final valuation date of July 23, 2031. The specific observation dates are July 29, 2027; January 25, 2028; July 25, 2028; January 24, 2029; July 25, 2029; January 23, 2030; July 24, 2030; and January 23, 2031, with the final valuation occurring on July 23, 2031. Corresponding call settlement dates follow by five business days, during which redemption proceeds are expected to be paid if the call condition is satisfied.
This semi-annual cadence provides investors with frequent checkpoints for potential early redemption, but also requires them to monitor index levels at these discrete dates. The filing does not disclose whether the notes can be surrendered early by investors or whether investors have any optionality to accelerate redemption. This suggests investors lack flexibility and are bound to hold the notes until either an automatic redemption event occurs or maturity is reached. The binary nature of the call trigger—all three indices must simultaneously be at or above their call levels—makes early redemption statistically less likely as maturity approaches, particularly if any index exhibits weakness relative to its initial level.
Lack of Interest Payments and Non-Listing Status
A fundamental characteristic of the notes disclosed in the pricing supplement is that they bear no interest. Unlike conventional debt instruments, investors receive no coupon payments throughout the five-year holding period. The sole source of return is the call amount upon automatic redemption or the principal repayment (adjusted for performance) at maturity if no trigger event occurs. This zero-coupon structure increases the attractiveness of early redemption from an investor perspective, as any call amount represents the entire return on the investment relative to the principal amount invested.
Additionally, the notes will not be listed on any securities exchange, limiting secondary market liquidity. While the filing does not explicitly state whether the notes are tradeable in over-the-counter markets or what bid-ask spreads or transaction costs might apply, the non-listed status generally indicates reduced liquidity compared to exchange-traded instruments. Investors seeking to exit their position prior to an automatic redemption event would likely face negotiation with Bank of Montreal or institutional secondary market dealers, potentially at unfavorable pricing. This illiquidity characteristic increases the effective holding period risk and may discourage retail investors from participating in the offering.
Regulatory and Legal Considerations for Investors
The disclosure includes standard regulatory disclaimers indicating that neither the Securities and Exchange Commission nor any state securities commission has approved or disapproved the notes or verified the accuracy of the offering documents. The notes are subject to a broader prospectus framework, with investors directed to review the prospectus dated March 25, 2025; the prospectus supplement dated March 25, 2025; and the product supplement dated March 25, 2025. These reference documents, not included in the pricing supplement itself, contain additional risk factors and detailed terms that investors should review before committing capital.
The filing specifies that the notes will be issued in minimum denominations of $1,000 and integral multiples thereof, establishing the minimum investment threshold. The notes are confirmed to be unsecured obligations of Bank of Montreal and are excluded from conversion into Bank of Montreal common shares under subsection 39.2(2.3) of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act, eliminating any potential for equity conversion or bail-in treatment under Canadian resolution frameworks. These legal parameters establish the notes as pure debt instruments with no conversion or equity participation features, further limiting upside for investors.
Market Context and Investor Positioning Considerations
The notes were priced on July 23, 2026, and settled on July 28, 2026, when major equity indices were at the specific initial levels disclosed in the pricing supplement. At the time of settlement, the estimated initial value of the notes was calculated at $946.93 per $1,000 in principal amount by Bank of Montreal. The gap between this estimated value and the 100% public offering price represents the embedded costs of the structured product—hedging costs, intermediary distribution fees, and the bank's profit margin on the transaction.
The disclosure does not provide forward guidance regarding expected probability of automatic redemption, expected returns under various market scenarios, or comparative analysis to alternative investments. Investors should recognize that the approximate 11% annual return on the call amount is contingent on two conditions: (1) all three reference assets must remain at or above their initial levels on at least one observation date, and (2) the bank must successfully perform its obligations. If either condition fails—including if any index declines even modestly below its initial level across all observation dates—investors receive no return beyond their original principal, subject to principal loss if a trigger event occurs.




Please wait processing your request...