Bread Financial Holdings, Inc. announced on July 14, 2026 that Valerie Greer, Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer, has notified the company of her intent to retire effective on or around February 19, 2027. The company disclosed the terms of a Salary Continuation, Release and Retirement Agreement executed between Bread Financial Payments, Inc. — a wholly-owned subsidiary — and Ms. Greer, dated July 8, 2026. The agreement outlines a package that includes continued base salary, eligibility for annual incentive compensation, and a lump-sum cash payment of $945,000. The announcement also noted that Bread Financial issued a press release on July 14, 2026 disclosing certain changes to its executive leadership team, which investors in the Columbus, Ohio-based consumer credit company may be watching closely.
Key Points
- NASDAQ: BFH-PB (Bread Financial Holdings, Inc. also lists common stock and Series A preferred stock on NYSE)
- Chief Commercial Officer Valerie Greer has given notice of her intention to retire effective on or around February 19, 2027
- Ms. Greer is entitled to a cash payment of $945,000 (less applicable taxes and withholdings), payable within 30 days of her retirement date, plus her full-year 2026 annual cash incentive award to be paid in early 2027
- Investors may be watching for further details on the succession plan and changes to the Bread Financial executive leadership team disclosed in the company's July 14, 2026 press release
Valerie Greer's Planned Departure from Bread Financial Holdings
Valerie Greer, who serves as Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer at Bread Financial Holdings, Inc., formally provided notice of her intent to retire with an effective date on or around February 19, 2027. The company disclosed this development through a current report filed with regulators on July 14, 2026, with the underlying agreement between Ms. Greer and the company dated July 8, 2026. The announcement covers both the retirement timeline and the specific financial terms that govern Ms. Greer's transition out of the organization.
Bread Financial Holdings is a Delaware-incorporated financial services company headquartered at 3095 Loyalty Circle, Columbus, Ohio. The company is best known for providing credit card and other consumer lending products. Ms. Greer, as Chief Commercial Officer, has held one of the company's most senior executive positions. The disclosure noted that a press release was issued on July 14, 2026, addressing not only Ms. Greer's retirement but also certain broader changes to the executive leadership team, though the specific details of those leadership changes were not reproduced within the primary disclosure text reviewed for this article.
Terms of the Salary Continuation, Release and Retirement Agreement
The Salary Continuation, Release and Retirement Agreement — executed between Bread Financial Payments, Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Bread Financial Holdings, and Ms. Greer — sets out four primary financial components. First, the agreement provides that Ms. Greer will continue to receive her current base salary and remain eligible for equivalent benefits and perquisites through her Retirement Date of on or around February 19, 2027. The filing states this arrangement applies for the duration of her remaining tenure.
Second, Ms. Greer remains entitled to her full-year 2026 annual cash incentive compensation award, to be paid in early 2027, consistent with the timing applicable to the broader employee population. Third, she is to receive a cash payment of $945,000, less applicable taxes and withholdings, to be paid within 30 days of the Retirement Date. Fourth, the agreement provides for certain other limited benefits and perquisites specifically relating to travel, financial services, and legal services, as described in the filing. No new equity grants are to be made to Ms. Greer under the terms of the agreement.
Equity Grant Treatment Under the Retirement Agreement
The disclosure makes clear that while no new equity grants will be awarded to Ms. Greer following the execution of the agreement, her existing outstanding equity grants will continue to vest in accordance with their original terms. This is a notable distinction compared to some executive departure agreements, where unvested equity may be subject to accelerated vesting, forfeiture, or modified treatment upon departure. In Ms. Greer's case, the filing states that her outstanding grants simply continue on their existing schedules.
For investors tracking executive compensation at Bread Financial Holdings, this arrangement means that the equity-related cost to the company from Ms. Greer's retirement may be limited to the continuation of what was already committed under prior grant agreements, rather than any incremental equity expense triggered by the departure itself. The specific dollar value or number of unvested equity awards outstanding for Ms. Greer was not disclosed in the filing reviewed for this article. The company did not disclose this figure in the filing.
Non-Competition, Non-Solicitation, and Confidentiality Obligations
Beyond the financial terms, the agreement imposes a series of conduct-related obligations on Ms. Greer that are standard for senior executive departures. The filing states that the agreement governs Ms. Greer's continued provision of services to the company through to her departure date, ensuring an orderly transition of her commercial responsibilities. The agreement also includes a general release of claims against the company by Ms. Greer, subject to customary exceptions.
Additionally, the agreement includes obligations of confidentiality, cooperation, non-disparagement, non-competition, and non-solicitation. The specific geographic scope, duration, or other detailed parameters of the non-competition and non-solicitation provisions were not separately enumerated in the primary disclosure text. These covenants are contained within the Post Employment Non-Disclosure, Non-Competition, and Non-Solicitation Agreement, which is attached as part of the overall agreement between the parties. The filing confirms that both instruments together constitute what is referred to as "the Agreement."
Regulatory Classification of the Press Release Disclosure
The company disclosed on July 14, 2026 that it had issued a press release announcing Ms. Greer's planned retirement and certain changes to its executive leadership team. This communication was furnished under Regulation FD, meaning that Bread Financial Holdings provided it simultaneously to the public to ensure fair disclosure. The filing is explicit that the information provided under this item — including the press release — is not deemed "filed" for the purposes of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and is therefore not subject to the liabilities ordinarily attaching to such filed documents.
The distinction between "filed" and "furnished" materials carries practical significance for investors and analysts. Items that are "furnished" rather than "filed" under Regulation FD are not automatically incorporated by reference into future Securities Act registration statements, and the company does not face the same statutory liability for them under Section 18 as it does for formally filed documents. Nonetheless, the press release and its contents are part of the public record following the July 14, 2026 announcement, and investors may be watching for any additional disclosures related to the executive leadership changes described therein.
Bread Financial's Securities Structure and Exchange Listings
Bread Financial Holdings, Inc. maintains three classes of securities registered under Section 12(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The company's common stock, with a par value of $0.01 per share, trades on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol BFH. The company also has two series of preferred depositary shares listed on the NYSE: depositary shares each representing a 1/40th interest in a share of 8.625% Non-Cumulative Perpetual Preferred Stock, Series A, trading under BFH PrA; and depositary shares each representing a 1/40th interest in a share of 8.875% Fixed Rate Reset Non-Cumulative Perpetual Preferred Stock, Series B, trading under BFH PrB.
The Series B preferred shares are the securities associated with the NASDAQ ticker BFH-PB referenced in the context of this announcement. The filing confirms that Bread Financial Holdings is not classified as an emerging growth company under applicable securities regulations. The company's registered address is 3095 Loyalty Circle, Columbus, Ohio 43219, and it is incorporated under the laws of the State of Delaware. Its IRS Employer Identification Number, as disclosed in the filing, is 31-1429215.
Signatory and Authorization of the Current Report
The current report was signed on behalf of Bread Financial Holdings, Inc. by Joseph L. Motes III, who serves as Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer, General Counsel, and Secretary. The signature is dated July 14, 2026, consistent with the filing date. The report was filed pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, confirming that it represents an authorized corporate disclosure on behalf of the registrant.
The filing was made under Commission File Number 001-15749. Mr. Motes' involvement in executing the report in his capacity as General Counsel and Secretary reflects standard corporate governance practice for material developments involving officer departures. Investors and analysts monitoring executive transitions at Bread Financial Holdings would note that the formal authorization of this disclosure sits with senior legal and administrative leadership rather than indicating any substantive business change beyond what is described in the agreement itself.
Context of Executive Leadership Changes at Bread Financial
The retirement of a Chief Commercial Officer at a consumer lending company of Bread Financial's scale is a development that investors in the sector typically monitor carefully, given that the commercial function plays a central role in partner relationships, credit card program management, and revenue generation strategies. The company's press release issued on July 14, 2026 referenced certain changes to the executive leadership team beyond Ms. Greer's departure, though the detailed content of those changes was not reproduced within the primary regulatory disclosure text on which this article is based.
Ms. Greer's retirement date of on or around February 19, 2027 provides the company with approximately seven months from the date of the announcement to manage the transition of her responsibilities. The agreement's provision requiring her continued service and cooperation through the Retirement Date suggests that Bread Financial intends to pursue an orderly handover. The filing does not name a successor to Ms. Greer in the Chief Commercial Officer role, and the company did not disclose this figure in the filing.
Financial Impact of the Retirement Agreement on Bread Financial
From a financial standpoint, the most quantifiable near-term cost disclosed in connection with Ms. Greer's retirement is the $945,000 cash payment, to be paid within 30 days of the Retirement Date of on or around February 19, 2027. This payment is subject to applicable taxes and withholdings, as the filing specifies. In addition, the company will bear the cost of Ms. Greer's base salary continuation and benefits through that date, as well as her full-year 2026 annual cash incentive award payable in early 2027.
The total cost of these compensation commitments, inclusive of the salary continuation period, the annual incentive award, and the lump-sum payment, was not aggregated or summarized in a single figure within the disclosure. The specific base salary level and the projected 2026 annual incentive award amount applicable to Ms. Greer were also not separately stated in the filing. The company did not disclose these figures in the filing. The immediate share price impact of the announcement was not clear from available public information.



Please wait processing your request...