Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. disclosed plans to issue Medium-Term Senior Notes linked to the worst-performing of three major indices—the Nasdaq-100, Russell 2000, and S&P 500—with a maturity date of August 3, 2029. The securities offer contingent coupon payments at an annualized rate of approximately 12.85 percent if market conditions are met, but investors face significant downside risk tied to the weakest-performing underlying. The offering, filed on July 27, 2026, represents a structured debt instrument backed by the full guarantee of Citigroup Inc.

Key Points

  • NYSE: C-PR
  • Citigroup is issuing callable contingent coupon equity-linked securities due August 3, 2029, with performance tied to the worst-performing of the Nasdaq-100, Russell 2000, and S&P 500 indices
  • Contingent coupons are set at approximately 12.85 percent per annum, payable monthly if the worst-performing underlying closes above 70 percent of its initial value on each valuation date
  • The stated principal amount is $1,000 per security, with pricing scheduled for July 31, 2026, and issue date of August 5, 2026
  • At maturity, investors receive full principal only if the worst-performing underlying closes at or above 70 percent of its initial value; otherwise, losses increase dollar-for-dollar with declines below that threshold

Structured Note Design and Pricing Terms

The disclosure outlines a complex debt instrument issued by Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Citigroup Inc. The securities are unsecured senior notes with a stated principal amount of $1,000 per security and an issue price of $1,000.00. The pricing date is scheduled for July 31, 2026, with an issue date of August 5, 2026, and maturity on August 3, 2029. Citigroup Global Markets Inc., acting as principal underwriter, receives no explicit underwriting fee, though the company notes that estimated value on the pricing date is expected to be at least $939.00 per security—significantly below the issue price. The filing indicates that electronic platform providers may receive fees of up to $1.50 per security sold through their platforms.

The document emphasizes that the estimated value represents Citigroup's proprietary internal assessment and does not guarantee resale price or indicate actual profit to affiliates. This valuation disclosure is critical for potential investors, as it signals an immediate embedded loss relative to the stated principal at issuance. The company did not disclose the total offering size or number of securities being issued in this pricing supplement.

Contingent Coupon Structure and Payment Conditions

Investors in these securities will receive contingent coupon payments equal to at least 1.0708 percent of the stated principal amount on each of 38 scheduled valuation dates, subject to specific performance conditions. The coupon is designed to deliver an annualized rate of approximately 12.85 percent if all payments are made in full. Contingent coupon payment dates are scheduled for the third business day after each valuation date, running monthly from August 31, 2026, through July 31, 2029, with the final payment occurring on the maturity date. However, investors will receive a contingent coupon payment only if the closing value of the worst-performing underlying on the immediately preceding valuation date is greater than or equal to its coupon barrier value of 70 percent of its initial underlying value.

The filing makes clear that if the worst-performing underlying closes below the 70 percent coupon barrier on any valuation date, no contingent coupon payment will be made on the following payment date. This structure creates a binary outcome on each monthly observation: either the investor receives the full contingent coupon or receives nothing. The document does not disclose whether missed coupons are cumulative, deferred, or permanently forfeited. The contingent coupon rate and exact payment amounts are stated to be "to be determined on the pricing date," meaning these figures remain subject to final determination before the securities launch.

Three-Index Worst-Performer Mechanism and Valuation Dates

The securities are linked to three major stock market indices: the Nasdaq-100 Index, the Russell 2000 Index, and the S&P 500 Index. On each of the 38 scheduled valuation dates, the "worst-performing underlying" is identified as the index with the lowest underlying return from the pricing date baseline. Valuation dates span from August 31, 2026, through July 31, 2029, with observations scheduled approximately monthly, though the filing notes that dates may be postponed if they fall on non-trading days or if certain market disruption events occur. The document does not specify which events qualify as market disruptions that would trigger postponements.

Each underlying has an initial underlying value equal to its closing value on the pricing date (July 31, 2026), a coupon barrier value set at 70 percent of the initial value, and a final barrier value also set at 70 percent of the initial value. Investors have full downside exposure to whichever underlying performs worst relative to its starting price, but they receive no dividends and cannot participate in any appreciation across any of the three indices. This asymmetric payoff structure means losses are fully realized while gains are entirely forgone, creating a risk profile unfavorable to equity holders seeking market appreciation.

Maturity Payment Structure and Principal Risk

At maturity on August 3, 2029, unless the securities are redeemed earlier, investors receive a maturity payment determined entirely by the performance of the worst-performing underlying on the final valuation date (July 31, 2029). If the final underlying value of the worst-performing underlying is greater than or equal to its final barrier value of 70 percent of its initial value, the investor receives the full $1,000 stated principal amount, plus the final contingent coupon payment if applicable. However, if the worst-performing underlying closes below 70 percent of its initial value, the investor receives $1,000 plus a dollar-for-dollar loss equal to the underlying return of the worst-performing underlying on the final valuation date, which the filing indicates could be significantly less than $1,000 and potentially zero.

The filing emphasizes that investors can receive "significantly less than the stated principal amount" and "possibly nothing" at maturity. Additionally, if the final underlying value is below the final barrier value, no contingent coupon payment is made on the maturity date itself. This structure places the entire principal repayment at risk based on a single observation of the worst-performing index on a single date (July 31, 2029), creating concentrated tail risk for investors. The document does not provide historical scenarios or examples showing the probability of the worst performer declining below 70 percent over the three-year period.

Issuer Guarantee and Credit Risk Framework

All payments on the securities are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by Citigroup Inc., the parent company of the issuer. The issuer itself, Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc., is a wholly owned subsidiary of Citigroup Inc. This guarantee structure means that investors are exposed to the credit risk of both the immediate issuer and its parent, with no separate credit enhancement or collateral backing. The filing explicitly states that all payments are subject to the credit risk of both entities and warns investors that they may not receive payments if either Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. or Citigroup Inc. defaults on its obligations.

Notably, the filing clarifies that the securities are not bank deposits, are not insured or guaranteed by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), and are not obligations of or guaranteed by any bank. This distinction is material because it removes any FDIC insurance protection and clarifies that investors are relying solely on the unsecured debt obligations of Citigroup entities. The document does not disclose Citigroup's current credit rating, recent financial condition, or any information about the likelihood of default.

Redemption Rights and Investor Liquidity Constraints

Citigroup retains the right to call the securities for mandatory redemption in whole (but not in part) on any potential redemption date, which corresponds to 33 contingent coupon payment dates scheduled from February 1, 2027, through July 2, 2029. Upon redemption, investors receive $1,000 per security plus any applicable contingent coupon payment, with not less than three business days' notice required. This call right is a significant benefit to the issuer, as it allows Citigroup to terminate the securities when market conditions are favorable to the issuer—for example, if the worst-performing underlying rallies sharply, reducing the issuer's hedging costs.

The filing explicitly states that the securities will not be listed on any securities exchange, meaning there is no public secondary market where investors can readily buy or sell the securities. Combined with the call right held by the issuer, this creates substantial liquidity risk for investors. An investor who wishes to exit the position before maturity has no assured market to do so, and Citigroup has no obligation to repurchase the securities. The document characterizes this as an investment that "may have limited or no liquidity," acknowledging the illiquidity explicitly as a risk factor investors must accept.

Risk Disclosures and Comparative Yield Analysis

The filing devotes substantial attention to risk factors, noting that investors are "subject to risks associated with each of the underlyings and will be negatively affected by adverse movements in any one of the underlyings." The key risk is that investors receive the downside of the worst-performing index while capturing none of the upside of any index. Even if two of the three underlying indices appreciate substantially, if the third index declines, the investor experiences losses. The contingent coupon structure introduces additional risk: if the worst performer closes below 70 percent of its initial value on any single valuation date, the investor receives no payment for that month, introducing monthly volatility to expected income.

The filing states that the contingent coupon "would produce a yield that is generally higher than the yield on our conventional debt securities of the same maturity" if all coupons are paid in full, but emphasizes that "your actual yield may be lower than the yield on our conventional debt securities of the same maturity because you may not receive one or more, or any, contingent coupon payments." The disclosure does not provide the yield on conventional Citigroup debt of comparable maturity for comparison, nor does it disclose the probability that contingent coupons will be paid in full or the expected yield given realistic market conditions.

Valuation Methodology and Estimated Worth at Issuance

The filing notes that Citigroup Global Markets Holdings Inc. expects the estimated value of the securities on the pricing date (July 31, 2026) to be at least $939.00 per security, which is $61.00 (or 6.1 percent) less than the $1,000 issue price. This estimated value is based on "CGMI's proprietary pricing models and our internal funding rate." The document explicitly clarifies that this estimated value "is not an indication of actual profit to CGMI or other of our affiliates, nor is it an indication of the price, if any, at which CGMI or any other person may be willing to buy the securities from you at any time after issuance."

This disclosure reveals a significant gap between issue price and estimated fair value, suggesting that investors who purchase at par will face an immediate unrealized loss if they attempt to resell the securities in any secondary market. The company did not disclose the specific valuation methodology, key assumptions (such as volatility estimates or dividend yields for each index), or sensitivity analysis showing how changes in market conditions would affect the estimated value. The note that CGMI "and its affiliates may profit from expected hedging activity related to this offering, even if the value of the securities declines" indicates that the underwriter has financial incentives independent of investor returns.

Regulatory Status and Distribution Arrangements

The pricing supplement is filed pursuant to Rule 424(b)(2) and references registration statement numbers 333-293732 and 333-293732-02, indicating that the underlying offering has been registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The document is labeled "SUBJECT TO COMPLETION, DATED JULY 27, 2026," meaning that certain terms, including the final contingent coupon rate and the exact number of securities being offered, remain subject to change before the securities are issued. The SEC has not approved or disapproved the securities, and the document warns that any contrary representation would constitute a criminal offense.

The filing references accompanying product supplement, underlying supplement, prospectus supplement, and prospectus documents, which investors are directed to review alongside the pricing supplement. The distribution is being handled by Citigroup Global Markets Inc., acting as principal underwriter, with electronic platform providers potentially receiving fees of up to $1.50 per security. The company did not disclose the total dollar value of the offering, the expected or minimum number of securities to be sold, or the geographic or investor-type restrictions on distribution.