Frequency Electronics, Inc., the NASDAQ-listed maker of precision timing and frequency control products, disclosed plans to offer $100 million in shares of common stock on July 28, 2026. The company will retain proceeds from $62.5 million of the offering, while affiliates of board member Jonathan Brolin will sell $37.5 million in existing shares as secondary sellers. The offering marks a significant capital-raising event for the precision electronics manufacturer, with shares trading at $70.64 per share as of July 27, 2026.

Key Points

  • NASDAQ: FEIM
  • Frequency Electronics announced a $100 million common stock offering, with the company raising $62.5 million and board-affiliated sellers offering $37.5 million of existing shares
  • Stock price on July 27, 2026 was $70.64 per share; underwriters Morgan Stanley and Craig-Hallum are managing the offering
  • The company granted underwriters a 30-day option to purchase up to $15 million in additional shares at the public offering price less underwriting discounts

Details of the $100 Million Capital Raise

Frequency Electronics disclosed a public offering structure in which the company itself will issue and sell shares generating $62.5 million in gross proceeds before expenses. The prospectus supplement filed on July 28, 2026, indicates that the remaining $37.5 million of the $100 million total offering consists of secondary shares—existing shares held by Edenbrook Value Fund, LP and Edenbrook Long Only Value Fund, LP, both affiliates of Jonathan Brolin, who serves as a member of the company's board of directors. The disclosure clarifies that Frequency Electronics will receive no proceeds from the sale of shares by these selling stockholders, as is standard practice in secondary offerings.

The offering size represents a material capital event for the precision electronics company. Morgan Stanley and Craig-Hallum Capital Advisors have been appointed to manage the underwriting process. The filing notes that the common stock trades on the Nasdaq Global Market under the ticker symbol "FEIM," and the last reported sale price on July 27, 2026, was $70.64 per share, suggesting an offering price point proximate to recent market trading levels.

Underwriter Incentives and Option to Purchase Additional Shares

The prospectus supplement discloses that the underwriters have received a 30-day option to purchase up to $15 million in additional shares of common stock from Frequency Electronics at the public offering price, less underwriting discounts and commissions. This option, often referred to as a "greenshoe" or over-allotment option, allows the underwriting syndicate to increase the total size of the offering if demand warrants, subject to the same terms and conditions as the primary offering. The inclusion of this mechanism is customary in equity offerings and provides pricing stability and additional capital-raising flexibility for the company.

The company did not disclose the specific per-share public offering price or the exact underwriting discount percentage in the preliminary prospectus supplement. These pricing details are typically finalized after market close on the day the offering prices and are communicated to investors in a separate pricing supplement. The filing explicitly notes that the document was subject to completion and dated July 28, 2026, indicating it was a preliminary prospectus before final terms were set.

Selling Stockholders and Board Affiliate Transaction

The disclosure highlights that Edenbrook Value Fund, LP and Edenbrook Long Only Value Fund, LP, both entities affiliated with board member Jonathan Brolin, are participating in the offering as secondary sellers. Under SEC disclosure requirements, when affiliates of company insiders sell shares in a registered offering, those transactions must be disclosed and the investors must be informed of the affiliate relationship. The prospectus supplement directs readers to page S-9 for additional details regarding these selling stockholders, indicating that fuller disclosure of their identities and holdings was provided in the full prospectus documents.

The structure of allowing board-affiliated entities to sell alongside a primary company offering is not unusual in capital markets, particularly when such affiliates hold substantial positions and seek liquidity. The prospectus clearly states that Frequency Electronics itself will not receive proceeds from the $37.5 million being sold by the Edenbrook funds, emphasizing the distinction between primary and secondary offering components to investors.

Nasdaq Trading History and Price Reference

The prospectus supplement identifies Frequency Electronics as a Nasdaq-listed company trading under the symbol "FEIM." The filing documents the last reported sale price of the common stock on Nasdaq as $70.64 per share as of July 27, 2026, the trading day immediately prior to the filing of the preliminary prospectus supplement. This reference price provides investors with a baseline for understanding the approximate valuation at which the offering was being contemplated, though the specific pricing per share was not disclosed in the preliminary filing.

Frequency Electronics manufactures precision timing and frequency control products, which serve critical applications in defense, aerospace, telecommunications, and other sectors requiring high-precision electronic components. The company's NASDAQ listing reflects its status as a publicly traded corporation subject to ongoing SEC disclosure requirements and Nasdaq listing standards.

Use of Proceeds From Primary Offering

While the prospectus supplement was filed in preliminary form without final pricing details, the document references a "Use of Proceeds" section beginning on page S-7 of the prospectus supplement. This section would ordinarily detail how Frequency Electronics intends to deploy the $62.5 million in gross proceeds it will receive from the primary offering. However, the specific uses of proceeds are not detailed in the excerpted filing content provided, and investors are directed to review the full prospectus supplement for those disclosures.

The company's intended use of capital raised in equity offerings typically encompasses debt repayment, working capital needs, acquisitions, capital expenditures, or general corporate purposes. Investors may reference the full prospectus supplement and the company's most recent Form 10-K filing, which is incorporated by reference in the prospectus documents, to understand the company's capital allocation strategy and cash flow requirements.

Risk Factors Identified in the Offering

The prospectus supplement directs investors to risk factors disclosed beginning on page S-5 of the supplement and page 5 of the accompanying base prospectus, as well as in Item 1A—Risk Factors contained in Frequency Electronics' most recent Form 10-K filing, which is incorporated by reference. The disclosure of comprehensive risk factors is a standard requirement for any registered securities offering and informs investors of material business, operational, market, and financial risks that could affect the company's performance and the value of its securities.

The prospectus notes that investing in common stock of the company carries various risks, though the specific enumeration of those risks is contained in the referenced sections of the full offering documents. Prospective investors are directed to review these risk disclosures carefully before making investment decisions, as they detail material adverse factors that could impact returns and stock performance.

Regulatory Approval Status and Effective Registration

The prospectus supplement indicates that a registration statement relating to the securities offered has been filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission and is effective as of the filing date. The document bears a standard SEC disclaimers noting that neither the SEC nor any state securities commission has approved or disapproved the securities or determined whether the prospectus supplement is truthful and complete, and that any contrary representation constitutes a criminal offense.

The preliminary status of the prospectus supplement—dated July 28, 2026, and marked "Subject to Completion"—signifies that material terms, including the public offering price per share and final underwriting discount, had not yet been determined at the time of filing. Final pricing and complete terms are typically established through a separate pricing amendment filed after market hours on the pricing date.

Timeline and Expected Settlement

The prospectus supplement indicates that common stock is expected to be delivered to purchasers on or about a specified date in 2026, though the exact settlement date was left blank in the preliminary filing. Settlement of equity offerings in the United States typically occurs three business days after pricing, a timeline referred to as "T+3" in market practice, though settlement dates may vary based on underwriter preferences and market conditions.

The company did not disclose this figure in the filing regarding the specific settlement or delivery date, as the preliminary prospectus supplement left that field blank pending finalization of offering terms. Once pricing is completed, a pricing supplement will communicate the final settlement date to investors.

Incorporation by Reference and Additional Disclosures

The prospectus supplement makes extensive use of incorporation by reference, meaning that certain financial statements, business descriptions, and other disclosures contained in Frequency Electronics' periodic filings with the SEC are deemed part of the prospectus. This allows the company to avoid duplicating information already on file while ensuring that all material information available to investors is integrated into the offering documents.

The filing instructs investors to read both the prospectus supplement and the accompanying base prospectus together with incorporated documents to obtain a complete picture of the company's business, financial condition, and the terms of the offering. Readers are also directed to review the company's most recent Form 10-K filing for comprehensive disclosure of risk factors, financial results, business operations, and management's discussion and analysis of financial condition and results of operations.

Underwriting Syndicate and Compensation Structure

Morgan Stanley and Craig-Hallum Capital Advisors are identified as the underwriters for the offering. The prospectus supplement references the "Underwriting" section beginning on page S-14 for a complete description of compensation payable to the underwriters, including underwriting discounts and commissions. The preliminary nature of the filing means that specific discount percentages and compensation amounts were not finalized and disclosed in the excerpted materials.

The underwriting section of the full prospectus typically addresses the discount structure, the underwriters' over-allotment option (which has been separately identified as $15 million in additional share purchase rights), any stabilization activities the underwriters may conduct in the secondary market, and other terms governing the relationship between the company and the underwriting syndicate.