Magnolia Oil & Gas Corporation announced on July 22, 2026, that its operating subsidiaries have priced a $500 million offering of 6.625% senior unsecured notes due 2034. The notes were issued by Magnolia Oil & Gas Operating LLC and Magnolia Oil & Gas Finance Corp. as part of a previously announced private offering. This debt issuance represents a capital markets transaction by the Houston-based oil and gas exploration and production company.

Key Points

  • NYSE: MGY
  • Magnolia Oil & Gas priced $500 million in senior unsecured notes at 6.625% coupon rate maturing in 2034
  • Announcement made July 22, 2026, through issuers Magnolia Oil & Gas Operating LLC and Magnolia Oil & Gas Finance Corp.
  • The offering was previously announced and conducted as a private placement under Securities Act Rule 135c

Debt Offering Details and Capital Structure

Magnolia Oil & Gas executed a pricing event for its previously announced private offering of senior unsecured notes on July 22, 2026. The offering comprises $500 million in aggregate principal amount of notes bearing a 6.625% annual interest rate and maturing in 2034. The issuance was conducted through two entities: Magnolia Oil & Gas Operating LLC and Magnolia Oil & Gas Finance Corp., which are structured as co-issuers under the company's capital structure.

The announcement of the pricing was made pursuant to Rule 135c under the Securities Act of 1933, which permits issuers to announce the terms of a securities offering prior to registration or qualification of those securities. This approach allows companies to communicate key details about debt offerings while maintaining compliance with securities regulations governing pre-marketing activities. The company disclosed that a press release containing the offering announcement was filed as an exhibit to the disclosure report.

Company Background and Business Operations

Magnolia Oil & Gas Corporation is a Delaware-incorporated company headquartered at Nine Greenway Plaza, Suite 1300, in Houston, Texas. The company operates as an oil and gas exploration and production enterprise, engaging in the discovery, development, and extraction of crude oil and natural gas resources. As a publicly traded entity on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol MGY, the company maintains a formal registration with the Securities and Exchange Commission under Commission File Number 001-38083.

The company's organizational structure reflects a tiered approach to capital management and operations. Magnolia Oil & Gas Operating LLC serves as the primary operating entity responsible for day-to-day exploration and production activities, while Magnolia Oil & Gas Finance Corp. functions as the company's financing subsidiary. This structure is common among energy sector enterprises that need to manage operational risks separately from financing arrangements and corporate governance functions.

Securities Registration and Regulatory Classification Status

Magnolia Oil & Gas maintains its Class A Common Stock registration on the New York Stock Exchange, where shares trade under the symbol MGY. The company's common stock carries a par value of $0.0001 per share and represents the equity security through which shareholders hold ownership interests in the corporation. The disclosure confirms the company is not classified as an emerging growth company under the regulatory definitions provided in Rule 405 of the Securities Act of 1933 and Rule 12b-2 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.

The company's registration status and classification as a non-emerging growth company affects which accounting standards and disclosure requirements apply to its periodic and current reports. This distinction determines the company's obligations regarding transition periods for adopting new or revised financial accounting standards. The company's Internal Revenue Service Employer Identification Number is 81-5365682, which identifies the entity for federal tax reporting purposes.

Offering Structure and Securities Characteristics

The notes offered in this transaction are structured as senior unsecured obligations, meaning they are not backed by specific collateral but rank ahead of subordinated debt in the capital structure. The 6.625% coupon rate represents the fixed annual interest rate payable to noteholders, establishing the cost of this debt financing for the company. Notes with a 2034 maturity date provide investors with an eight-year holding period until principal repayment, representing a medium-term debt instrument relative to traditional bond market offerings.

The announcement clarifies that the offering information does not constitute an offer to sell or solicitation to buy the notes in any jurisdiction where such transaction would violate applicable securities laws prior to proper registration or qualification. This standard protective language reflects securities law requirements that issuers and their intermediaries must observe when announcing or marketing new debt offerings. The company noted that the offering was conducted under Rule 135c, which permits such announcements while maintaining compliance with pre-marketing restrictions.

Capital Allocation Context and Market Environment

Debt offerings in the energy sector reflect companies' ongoing capital needs for exploration, development, and operational activities. A $500 million offering of notes represents a significant financing transaction for a mid-sized energy production company. The fixed 6.625% interest rate reflects prevailing market conditions as of the July 2026 pricing date and the company's credit profile relative to other borrowers in the energy and broader corporate debt markets.

Companies in the oil and gas exploration and production sector utilize various financing mechanisms to fund capital expenditure programs, reserve replacement activities, and general corporate purposes. Senior unsecured debt offerings provide an alternative to secured borrowing arrangements and equity issuances, allowing management to access capital markets while preserving asset bases and avoiding dilution of existing shareholders. The eight-year maturity of these notes extends the company's debt profile and potentially diversifies its funding sources across different time horizons.

Documentation and Regulatory Filings

The company filed this announcement as a current report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 on July 22, 2026, the same date as the pricing announcement. The disclosure includes a complete press release describing the offering terms and conditions as Exhibit 99.1, which is incorporated by reference into the current disclosure report. Timothy D. Yang, serving as Executive Vice President, Chief Legal and Commercial Officer, Corporate Secretary, and Land officer, authorized and signed the disclosure report on behalf of the company.

The filing also includes a Cover Page Interactive Data File formatted as Inline XBRL, which allows investors and market participants to access key data elements in machine-readable format. This data standardization facilitates research and analysis by enabling automated extraction of material facts and figures from the disclosure. The company's filing address is Nine Greenway Plaza, Suite 1300, Houston, Texas 77046, and its telephone contact is (713) 842-9050.

Investor Considerations and Execution Timeline

Investors evaluating this offering should recognize that the announcement on July 22, 2026, represents the pricing date for a previously announced transaction. The delay between the initial announcement of plans to raise capital and the pricing event is standard in debt markets, allowing time for investor feedback, market assessment, and pricing determination. The immediate share price impact was not clear from available public information contained in this announcement.

The timing of this debt offering in July 2026 reflects management's decision regarding optimal market windows for accessing capital. The company did not disclose in this announcement the specific use of proceeds, any credit rating determinations by rating agencies, or details regarding the distribution plan for placing the notes among institutional and retail investors. These details are typically contained in offering documents provided to prospective investors but are not required in the current report announcement.

Comparability to Prior Offerings and Debt Profile Evolution

The company did not disclose in this announcement how this offering compares to previous debt issuances, prior coupon rates, or the composition of its total debt outstanding. Historical context regarding the company's leverage ratios, debt refinancing activities, or changes in borrowing costs would provide additional perspective on the significance of this transaction. Investors seeking such comparative analysis would need to review the company's periodic quarterly and annual reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The 6.625% coupon rate on notes due in 2034 establishes the cost of this particular tranche of debt financing but does not necessarily indicate the rates applicable to other company borrowings or credit facilities. Energy sector debt instruments often feature varying rates depending on collateral, subordination status, and maturity profiles. The company's debt structure and overall cost of capital reflect the aggregate impact of multiple financing sources, including bank facilities, bonds, and other instruments not detailed in this offering announcement.

Forward-Looking Information and Investor Guidance

This announcement provides specific details regarding a completed pricing event but does not constitute forward-looking information regarding the company's future financial results, operational performance, or capital allocation priorities. The company has not disclosed expected uses of the $500 million in proceeds, guidance on earnings impacts, or anticipated effects on balance sheet metrics. Investors should not infer from the debt offering any particular message regarding management's outlook for commodity prices, production levels, or profitability.

The announcement states that the offering information does not constitute an offer to sell or solicitation to buy in any jurisdiction where such transaction would be unlawful. This standard language reflects securities law principles applicable across U.S. and international markets. Prospective investors should review complete offering documents, including any prospectus supplement or private placement memorandum, which would contain comprehensive disclosures regarding risks, financial information, and use of proceeds not included in this abbreviated announcement.