Morgan Stanley Finance LLC has priced and issued $1.375 million in principal amount of Dual Directional Trigger PLUS structured notes, as disclosed in a pricing supplement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on July 27, 2026. The securities, which mature on July 26, 2029, offer leveraged upside exposure tied to the worst-performing of the Nasdaq-100 Index and S&P 500 Index, with downside protection limited to a 70 percent threshold. The notes are unsecured obligations fully guaranteed by Morgan Stanley and carry significant principal risk, making them suitable only for investors willing to accept potential loss of their entire investment.

Key Points

  • NYSE: MS-PQ
  • Morgan Stanley Finance LLC issued $1.375 million in aggregate principal amount of Dual Directional Trigger PLUS structured notes on July 28, 2026
  • Securities priced at $1,000 per note with an estimated value of $980.40 per security on the pricing date; linked to both the Nasdaq-100 Index and S&P 500 Index with initial levels of 28,454.81 and 7,408.30 respectively as of July 23, 2026
  • Notes feature a 112 percent leverage factor for upside gains, 100 percent absolute return participation rate in the trigger range, and a 70 percent downside threshold level; investors should monitor index performance relative to these thresholds through the July 23, 2029 observation date

Structured Investment Framework and Dual Index Linkage

The Dual Directional Trigger PLUS securities represent a complex structured investment product designed for sophisticated investors seeking exposure to equity market performance with specific risk-reward characteristics. As disclosed in the pricing supplement, the notes are based on the worst-performing of two underliers: the Nasdaq-100 Index and the S&P 500 Index. The use of the worst-performing index means that investors do not benefit from asset diversification; instead, a decline in either index beyond the downside threshold level will adversely affect returns, even if the other index has appreciated or declined less substantially. This structure creates a scenario where exposure to two major indices simultaneously introduces concentrated downside risk rather than hedging benefits.

The initial levels for the indices were established on the strike date of July 23, 2026, with the Nasdaq-100 Index closing at 28,454.81 and the S&P 500 Index at 7,408.30. These levels serve as the baseline for calculating the percentage change in each index over the three-year term of the securities. The filing indicates that the final level for each index will be determined by its closing level on the observation date of July 23, 2029, subject to postponement for non-trading days and certain market disruption events. This methodology ensures that investors' returns are calculated using officially published index closing values at the start and end of the investment period.

Upside Payment Structure and Leverage Factor

The securities incorporate a leveraged upside feature designed to amplify gains when both underlying indices appreciate. According to the disclosure, if the final level of each underlier is greater than its initial level, investors will receive the stated principal amount of $1,000 plus a leveraged upside payment. The leveraged upside payment is calculated by multiplying the stated principal amount by a leverage factor of 112 percent and the underlier percent change of the worst-performing underlier. This 112 percent leverage factor means that investors receive 1.12 times the percentage gain of the worst-performing index when both indices finish above their starting levels.

The filing clarifies that the leverage feature applies specifically to scenarios where both underliers close above their initial levels. In such cases, the payment structure rewards investors for the appreciation of the weaker-performing index, magnified by the 112 percent leverage multiplier. However, the filing emphasizes that this upside leverage benefit is contingent on both indices achieving positive performance from their initial levels. If either index fails to surpass its initial level, investors enter a different payment structure based on whether the indices remain above the downside threshold levels or breach them entirely.

Absolute Return Participation and Limited Downside Protection

When the final level of either underlier is equal to or less than its initial level but both underliers remain at or above their downside threshold levels, the securities provide an absolute return participation feature. In this scenario, investors receive the stated principal amount plus a positive return calculated as the absolute value of the percentage decline in the worst-performing underlier multiplied by the 100 percent absolute return participation rate. The filing illustrates this with an example: a negative 5 percent underlier percent change results in a positive 5 percent absolute underlier return. This mechanism effectively converts losses into gains within the protected range, allowing investors to receive returns even when markets decline modestly.

The downside threshold levels are set at 70 percent of each index's initial level, meaning the Nasdaq-100 Index has a threshold of 19,918.367 and the S&P 500 Index has a threshold of 5,185.81. Within this protected range—where indices have declined between 0 and 30 percent—the absolute return participation feature limits investor losses to a maximum positive return of 30 percent, according to the disclosure. This creates a "cushion" that protects investors from experiencing the full magnitude of market declines up to the 30 percent threshold, though the filing notes this protection applies to the worst-performing index only, and an investor's ultimate return depends on which index performs more poorly.

Principal Risk and Catastrophic Loss Scenarios

The securities carry substantial principal risk, particularly if either underlying index declines below its 70 percent downside threshold level. The disclosure states that if the final level of either underlier is less than its downside threshold level, investors will experience a one-to-one loss for every one percent decline in the worst-performing underlier over the term of the securities. Under these circumstances, the payment at maturity will be significantly less than the stated principal amount and could be zero. The performance factor for calculating losses in this scenario is derived by dividing the final level by the initial level, which means a 70 percent decline results in a payment of $700, and further declines result in proportionally smaller payments down to a potential total loss.

The magnitude of potential loss becomes apparent when considering the market environment required to trigger principal erosion. A 30 percent decline in the worst-performing index would completely eliminate any benefit from the absolute return participation feature and begin eating into the investor's principal. For example, a 40 percent decline would result in a payment of only $600 per security, representing a $400 loss per $1,000 investment. The filing emphasizes that "investors in the securities must be willing to accept the risk of losing their entire initial investment based on the performance of either underlier," underscoring the severity of the downside risk. This loss scenario is particularly notable given that a single index among the two underliers could trigger catastrophic losses regardless of the performance of the other index.

Pricing, Issue Price, and Estimated Value Discrepancy

The securities were priced at $1,000 per note, with an aggregate principal amount of $1.375 million issued by Morgan Stanley Finance LLC. However, the filing reveals a significant gap between the issue price and estimated value, with the estimated value on the pricing date calculated at $980.40 per security. This $19.60 discount per note, or approximately 1.96 percent of the stated principal, reflects costs associated with issuing, selling, structuring, and hedging the securities, which are borne by investors. The disclosure explains that the original issue price of $1,000 includes these embedded costs, and consequently, the estimated value is less than the issue price, representing a built-in loss for investors from the inception of their investment.

The commissions and fees structure shows that the agent, Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC, received $7.50 per security in commissions and fees, totaling $10,312.50 across the aggregate offering. Morgan Stanley & Co. expected to purchase the securities from MSFL at $992.50 per security and sell them to fee-based advisory accounts at the public price of $1,000 per security, with no additional sales commission. The filing notes that the estimated value determination involved Morgan Stanley's own pricing and valuation models, market inputs, and assumptions relating to the underliers, volatility, current and expected interest rates, and Morgan Stanley's secondary market credit spread. This reliance on internal valuation models means the estimated value reflects Morgan Stanley's assessment of fair value, though actual secondary market prices may differ from this estimate.

Credit Risk and Guarantee Structure

The securities are unsecured obligations of Morgan Stanley Finance LLC and are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by Morgan Stanley. While the parent company guarantee provides recourse in the event of MSFL default, all payments under the securities remain subject to Morgan Stanley's credit risk. The filing explicitly warns that if Morgan Stanley defaults on its obligations, investors could lose some or all of their investment. The securities are not secured obligations, and investors will not have any security interest in, or access to, any underlying reference asset. This means that in a default scenario, investors rank as general unsecured creditors of Morgan Stanley without priority access to specific assets or collateral backing the notes.

The guarantee structure is notable because Morgan Stanley is a major financial institution, and the guarantee is full and unconditional; however, the filing emphasizes the credit risk inherent in any corporate obligation. Unlike deposits insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, these structured notes carry counterparty risk tied to Morgan Stanley's financial condition and ability to meet its obligations. The pricing of the securities, reflected in the estimated value discount, likely incorporates a credit spread component related to Morgan Stanley's secondary market credit characteristics. Investors must evaluate whether Morgan Stanley's creditworthiness is sufficient to justify holding these principal-at-risk securities, particularly given the potential for significant losses tied to index performance.

Issue Timeline and Maturity Terms

The securities were structured on a clear timeline, with the strike date and pricing date both occurring on July 23, 2026, and the original issue date set for July 28, 2026. This five-day gap between pricing and issuance represents the standard settlement period for structured products. The maturity date is July 26, 2029, providing a three-year investment horizon for securities holders. The observation date, when the final index levels will be determined, is July 23, 2029, subject to postponement for non-trading days and certain market disruption events. This three-day buffer between the observation date and maturity date allows time for payment processing and settlement activities.

The filing does not disclose whether the observation date would be postponed in specific market disruption scenarios or what constitutes a qualifying disruption event. Investors should review the accompanying product supplement and index supplement for detailed provisions regarding postponement rights and market disruption procedures. The use of a specific observation date locks in the final index levels used for calculations, eliminating ongoing valuation changes during the final days before maturity. The notes will pay no interest during the three-year term, meaning all returns derive solely from the indexed payment structures tied to index performance changes.

Investor Suitability and Market Positioning

The disclosure states that the securities are designed for investors who seek a return based on the performance of the worst-performing underlier and who are willing to risk their principal and forgo current income in exchange for the upside leverage feature, the absolute return participation feature, and the limited protection against loss of principal. The filing emphasizes that these securities are appropriate only for investors willing to accept the risk of losing their entire initial investment, indicating they are not suitable for conservative or income-focused investors. The note structure is specifically targeted toward fee-based advisory accounts, as the filing states that the securities will be sold only to investors purchasing them in such accounts.

The product represents a complex derivative strategy that requires investors to make multiple simultaneous bets: that both indices will appreciate (to capture upside leverage), or if not, that the worst-performing index will not decline more than 30 percent (to preserve principal), or ultimately, that indices will not decline more than 70 percent from their starting levels (to preserve partial capital). This multi-layered contingency structure makes the securities suitable primarily for sophisticated institutional or high-net-worth individual investors with substantial market knowledge and risk tolerance. The filing does not disclose specific information about the distribution channels, investor demographics, or expected hold periods, though the restriction to fee-based accounts suggests institutional or professional advisory relationships.

Regulatory Status and Available Documentation

The pricing supplement was filed pursuant to Rule 424(b)(2) with the Securities and Exchange Commission, with registration statement numbers 333-293641 and 333-293641-01. The filing includes the standard SEC regulatory warning that the Securities and Exchange Commission and state securities regulators have not approved or disapproved these securities, or determined if the offering documents are truthful or complete, and that any representation to the contrary is a criminal offense. The securities are not deposits or savings accounts and are not insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency or instrumentality. The securities are also not obligations of, or guaranteed by, a bank, despite being issued by a Morgan Stanley affiliate, as MSFL is not a banking entity.

The filing references accompanying documents including a product supplement dated April 8, 2026, an index supplement dated April 8, 2026, a tax supplement dated April 8, 2026, and a prospectus dated April 8, 2026. These documents are incorporated by reference and provide additional details regarding the specific terms, index calculation methodologies, taxation treatment, and general offering terms. Investors are directed to review all related documents in conjunction with the pricing supplement, as the complete understanding of the securities requires information across all these documents. The CUSIP number for the securities is 61781GQ61, and the ISIN is US61781GQ616, which can be used to identify the securities in trading and settlement systems.