Morgan Stanley Finance LLC has issued Buffered PLUS Principal at Risk Securities due August 2, 2028, which are linked to the worst-performing stock among Alphabet Inc., Amazon.com Inc., Microsoft Corporation and NVIDIA Corporation. The securities, guaranteed by Morgan Stanley, offer leveraged upside exposure with a 70% buffer protection, but carry significant downside risk if any underlying stock falls below its buffer level. The securities were priced on July 28, 2026 with an estimated value of approximately $974.60 per security.
Key Points
- NYSE: MS-PQ — Morgan Stanley Finance LLC issued new structured notes tracking four major technology stocks
- Buffered PLUS securities mature August 2, 2028 and are fully guaranteed by Morgan Stanley
- Securities offer 400% leverage on upside gains but impose losses dollar-for-dollar for declines beyond a 70% buffer level, with a 30% minimum payment floor
- Estimated value on pricing date was approximately $974.60 per security, reflecting issuer costs and hedging expenses embedded in the $1,000 issue price
Structure and Payoff Profile of the Buffered PLUS Securities
The Buffered PLUS securities represent a multi-asset structured note with a two-year maturity and complex payoff mechanics tied to the worst-performing of four major technology stocks. The disclosure states that at maturity, if all four underlying stocks finish above their initial levels, investors receive the full $1,000 principal plus a leveraged upside payment calculated at 400% of the worst-performing underlier's gain. This leverage structure means that a 1% gain in the worst-performing stock translates to a 4% return on the security above principal recovery.
However, the securities incorporate meaningful downside protection only within a specified band. If any underlier declines but remains above 70% of its initial level, investors still receive full principal at maturity, regardless of whether other stocks have appreciated significantly. This buffer mechanism is designed to protect investors from moderate losses, but the announcement emphasizes that the securities are "principal at risk" and that investors must accept the possibility of losing a substantial portion of their initial investment. The structure explicitly ties performance to the worst-performing stock among the four, meaning that even if three stocks surge, poor performance in a single holding can significantly impair overall returns.
Downside Risk Exposure and Loss Mechanics
The filing makes clear that downside risk extends substantially beyond the buffer threshold. If any underlying stock falls below its 70% buffer level, investors suffer losses on a dollar-for-dollar basis for every percentage point the worst-performing stock declines beyond the 30% buffer amount. For example, if the worst-performing stock declines 40% from its initial level, investors would experience a 10% loss on their principal investment, receiving $900 per $1,000 invested. The disclosure states that under these circumstances, "the payment at maturity will be less, and may be significantly less, than the stated principal amount of the securities," subject to a 30% minimum payment floor that caps maximum losses at 70% of principal.
The announcement emphasizes repeatedly that the multi-stock structure provides "no asset diversification benefits." Instead, the use of four underliers creates compounded downside risk, as a significant decline in any single stock—regardless of how well the others perform—determines the overall security outcome. Investors in these securities must accept the risk that a sharp correction in any of the four technology stocks, particularly NVIDIA given its volatility history, could trigger substantial losses. The filing notes that investors who purchase these securities must be "willing to accept the risk of losing a significant portion of their initial investment based on the performance of any underlier."
Pricing, Valuation, and Embedded Costs
The securities were issued at a $1,000 stated principal amount on July 31, 2026, following a pricing date of July 28, 2026. However, the estimated value on the pricing date was approximately $974.60 per security, representing a gap of roughly $25.40 per security, or approximately 2.54%. The disclosure explains that this valuation difference reflects "costs associated with issuing, selling, structuring and hedging the securities, which are borne by you," meaning these costs are embedded in the issue price and reduce the initial value available to investors. The announcement states that the final estimated value would be set forth on the cover of the final pricing supplement, and the initial estimate of approximately $974.60 represented a range not to exceed $25.00 from that estimate.
The valuation methodology incorporates both a debt component and a performance-based component linked to the four underlying stocks. Morgan Stanley disclosed that its estimate of the securities' value on the pricing date was determined using "our own pricing and valuation models, market inputs and assumptions relating to the underliers, instruments based on the underliers, volatility and other factors including current and expected interest rates." This approach means that investors are purchasing securities whose intrinsic value, as calculated by the issuer, is already discounted from the $1,000 purchase price. The company did not disclose specific commissions paid to Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC, the agent, or specific proceeds retained by Morgan Stanley Finance LLC.
Guarantee Structure and Credit Risk Considerations
The securities are unsecured obligations of Morgan Stanley Finance LLC and are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by Morgan Stanley. This guarantee structure means that if Morgan Stanley Finance LLC were unable to meet its obligations at maturity, investors would have a claim against Morgan Stanley itself. However, the announcement makes plain that "all payments are subject to our credit risk," and that "if we default on our obligations, you could lose some or all of your investment." The securities are explicitly identified as "not secured obligations," meaning investors hold no security interest in any underlying asset and have no preferential claim on Morgan Stanley's assets in the event of default.
The disclosure further clarifies that the securities are not deposits or savings accounts and are not insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency. Investors should recognize that the return of principal, even if the underlying stocks perform as needed to trigger the buffer protection, depends entirely on Morgan Stanley's continued creditworthiness. The unconditional guarantee by Morgan Stanley, while providing an additional layer of credit support relative to the issuer Morgan Stanley Finance LLC alone, does not eliminate the credit risk that both entities could experience financial distress.
Underlying Stock Selection and Performance Observation
The four underlying stocks selected for these securities represent major components of the technology and artificial intelligence landscape: Alphabet Inc. Class A common stock (ticker GOOGL), Amazon.com Inc. common stock (ticker AMZN), Microsoft Corporation common stock (ticker MSFT), and NVIDIA Corporation common stock (ticker NVDA). The announcement specifies that the strike date and pricing date were both July 28, 2026, establishing the initial levels against which all future performance would be measured. The observation date for determining final levels was set as July 28, 2028, subject to postponement for non-trading days and certain market disruption events, giving investors approximately two years of performance observation.
The filing does not disclose the specific closing prices for any of the four stocks on the strike date, instead leaving these initial level values blank in the prospectus supplement. Similarly, the specific buffer level values for each stock—which would equal 70% of each stock's initial level—were not provided in the announcement. The company stated that "as necessary, calculated levels will be rounded to three decimal places," indicating precision in the calculation methodology. The worst-performing underlier would be determined by calculating the percentage return for each stock from its initial level to its final level on the observation date, with the stock showing the lowest percentage return establishing the security's overall performance.
Distribution and Suitability Requirements
The disclosure states that these securities "will be sold only to investors purchasing the securities in fee-based advisory accounts." This suitability requirement reflects regulatory and internal compliance standards that Morgan Stanley has established for structured products of this complexity. Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC, acting as the agent, was expected to purchase all securities from the issuer and then sell them to an unaffiliated dealer at a wholesale price, with that dealer subsequently offering them to fee-based advisory account customers at the $1,000 public price. The agent's compensation structure differs from typical commission arrangements; the announcement states that "MS & Co. will not receive a sales commission with respect to the securities," suggesting that compensation occurs through other means reflected in the pricing.
The restriction to fee-based advisory accounts indicates that Morgan Stanley intends for these securities to be distributed through financial advisors who charge ongoing fees rather than transaction-based commissions. This channel may reduce potential conflicts of interest around security selection, though advisors still earn fees regardless of security performance. The filing provides no information about the aggregate principal amount being issued, leaving the total size of this offering undisclosed in the announcement.
Risk Factors and Investment Profile
The announcement identifies the Buffered PLUS securities as instruments "for investors who seek a return based on the performance of the worst performing underlier and who are willing to risk their principal and forgo current income in exchange for the upside leverage and buffer features." This description delineates a specific investor profile: those seeking equity market exposure with enhanced leverage but also requiring moderate downside protection. However, the disclosure emphasizes repeatedly that these securities are "principal at risk securities" and that the buffer protection is limited in scope. The securities pay no interest, meaning investors receive no coupon income and must rely entirely on the appreciation of the underlying stocks to generate returns above the protected buffer band.
The filing notes that "the value of the securities is based on the worst performing underlier" and reiterates that holding four underliers "does not provide any asset diversification benefits and instead means that a decline in the level of any underlier beyond its buffer level will adversely affect your return on the securities, even if the other underliers have appreciated or have not declined as much." This structural feature represents a critical risk factor: investors have systematic downside exposure through the worst-performing stock while upside gains are capped by the leverage to only the worst performer's gain. A portfolio where the worst-performing stock rises 5% but the best-performing stock rises 50% would still generate only a 20% upside payment (5% × 400% leverage), despite the significant outperformance of other holdings.
Registration and Regulatory Status
The securities were issued pursuant to Morgan Stanley Finance LLC's Series A Global Medium-Term Notes program under Registration Statement Nos. 333-293641 and 333-293641-01. The pricing supplement, designated as Preliminary Pricing Supplement No. 17,704, was filed pursuant to Rule 424(b)(2) under the Securities Act of 1933. The announcement states that the preliminary pricing supplement was dated July 28, 2026 and notes that a final pricing supplement would subsequently be issued, which would contain the actual initial levels for each underlying stock, the specific buffer levels, and the final estimated value of the securities.
The filing includes the standard SEC disclosure that "the Securities and Exchange Commission and state securities regulators have not approved or disapproved these securities, or determined if this document or the accompanying product supplement, tax supplement and prospectus is truthful or complete." The securities were assigned a CUSIP of 61781DEY0 and an ISIN of US61781DEY04 for identification purposes. The announcement confirms that the securities would not be listed on any securities exchange, meaning investors would have limited liquidity and would likely need to sell back to Morgan Stanley or another dealer if they wished to exit their positions prior to maturity.
Comparative Valuation Context and Investor Implications
The approximate $25.40 valuation discount from the $1,000 issue price reflects the embedded costs of structuring, marketing, and hedging these derivative securities. For investors accustomed to purchasing plain vanilla bonds or equity securities, this markup may seem significant; however, it represents the market price for the leverage and buffer features the securities provide. The 400% leverage factor effectively gives investors four times the upside participation in the worst-performing stock's gains, while the 70% buffer provides protection against losses up to 30%, with a 30% minimum recovery floor. These features are not available in traditional securities and thus command compensation to the issuer and distribution partners.
Investors considering these securities should carefully evaluate whether the leverage on the worst-performing stock adequately compensates for the significant downside risks and the embedded costs. The two-year maturity means that investors would need to forecast not only the direction of four major technology stocks but also their relative performance, with the understanding that a single poorly performing stock determines the overall outcome. The technology sector volatility, particularly for NVIDIA and other artificial intelligence-focused companies, suggests that the probability of significant downside scenarios may be material over a two-year period. The fixed maturity date means that investors cannot exit at a predetermined principal value prior to August 2, 2028, unless they sell their securities in the secondary market at whatever price the market determines.




Please wait processing your request...