Morgan Stanley Finance LLC has issued Jump Securities with an auto-callable feature linked to a diversified basket of equities and exchange-traded funds, according to a pricing supplement dated July 17, 2026. The structured investment offering, with an aggregate principal amount of $3,315,000 and a maturity date of July 22, 2031, targets investors willing to accept principal risk in exchange for potential early redemption or enhanced returns. The securities are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by Morgan Stanley and designed exclusively for fee-based advisory accounts.
Key Points
- NYSE: MS-PQ
- Morgan Stanley Finance LLC has priced Jump Securities with an auto-callable feature maturing July 22, 2031, with potential early redemption on July 23, 2027
- Aggregate principal amount of $3,315,000 issued at $1,000 per security; estimated value on pricing date was $977.30 per security
- Securities linked to a basket comprising S&P 500 Index (40%), Russell 2000 Index (30%), iShares MSCI EAFE ETF (20%), and iShares MSCI Emerging Markets ETF (10%)
- Participation rate of 171% on upside if final level exceeds initial level; downside protection at 65% threshold with full principal loss possible if decline exceeds 35%
Underlying Basket Structure and Component Weighting
The securities derive their performance from a composite basket of four market-linked components, each with distinct geographic and market cap exposure. The S&P 500 Index, representing large-cap U.S. equities, comprises 40% of the basket weighting and carried an initial basket component level of 7,457.69 on the strike date of July 17, 2026. The Russell 2000 Index, tracking small-cap U.S. securities, represents 30% of the basket with an initial level of 2,962.217, providing investors with exposure to domestic microcap market performance.
International and emerging market exposure is incorporated through two iShares exchange-traded funds. The iShares MSCI EAFE ETF, which captures developed market equities outside North America, accounts for 20% of the basket weighting with an initial level of $103.33. The iShares MSCI Emerging Markets ETF, representing 10% of the basket, started at $63.29, offering direct exposure to growth markets across Asia, Latin America, and Africa. Each basket component is scaled by a constant multiplier throughout the five-year term, ensuring consistent weighting mechanics regardless of absolute price movements in the underlying instruments.
Automatic Early Redemption Feature and Call Mechanism
The securities incorporate an automatic redemption provision that activates if the combined basket level reaches or exceeds 100% of its initial level on the first determination date, scheduled for July 20, 2027, subject to postponement for non-trading days and market disruption events. Should this threshold be breached, investors will receive an early redemption payment of $1,090 per security on July 23, 2027, representing a 9% return on the stated principal amount within approximately one year. This feature provides an exit mechanism for investors seeking defined, early returns without waiting until the maturity date.
Once the securities are automatically redeemed under this provision, no further payments or participation in basket performance will be available to investors. The call threshold is set at a neutral level—equal to the initial basket level—meaning the securities require the basket to maintain or recover to its starting valuation point within roughly 12 months to trigger early redemption. The filing does not disclose whether this early redemption feature affects the estimated value calculation or the pricing implications for investors.
Maturity Payment Structure and Participation Rates
If the securities are not automatically redeemed early, payment at maturity on July 22, 2031, is determined by comparing the final basket level to the initial level. Should the final level exceed the initial level, investors receive the stated principal amount of $1,000 plus an upside payment calculated by multiplying the stated principal by a 171% participation rate and the percentage change in the underlier. This enhanced participation rate means investors capture 1.71 times the positive performance of the underlying basket above the initial level, providing leveraged upside exposure.
If the final level equals or falls below the initial level but remains at or above the 65% downside threshold, investors receive only the stated principal amount with no additional payment, effectively capping losses at the cost of foregone gains. The 65% threshold indicates that investors can sustain up to a 35% cumulative decline in basket value without triggering principal loss. However, should the basket fall below 65% of its initial level, investors face a principal loss equal to the performance factor—calculated as final level divided by initial level—multiplied by the stated principal. In scenarios where the basket declines significantly, this payment structure can result in total loss of principal.
Pricing, Commission Structure, and Distribution Terms
The securities were priced at $1,000 per security, with Morgan Stanley & Co. LLC receiving commissions and fees of $1.50 per security, or $4,972.50 in aggregate. This results in net proceeds to Morgan Stanley Finance LLC of $998.50 per security, totaling $3,310,027.50. The agent is expected to sell the securities at $998.50 to an unaffiliated dealer, who will distribute them to fee-based advisory accounts at the public price of $1,000 per security, meaning Morgan Stanley & Co. will not receive a separate sales commission on these transactions.
The securities are sold exclusively through fee-based advisory accounts, restricting access to clients of advisory firms rather than general retail or institutional investors. The distribution mechanism reflects a multi-tier sales approach, where the agent distributes to intermediary dealers who then place the securities with end clients. The filing indicates that estimated costs associated with issuing, selling, structuring, and hedging the securities are embedded in the pricing and borne by investors, explaining why the estimated value on the pricing date of $977.30 per security was $22.70 below the $1,000 issue price.
Estimated Value and Valuation Methodology
The estimated value of the securities on the pricing date was $977.30 per security, representing a discount of approximately 2.27% from the issue price. This valuation reflects the company's internal pricing and valuation models applied to the debt component and the performance-based component linked to the basket constituents. The valuation incorporates market inputs and assumptions relating to each basket component, instruments based on the basket components, volatility expectations, and factors including current and expected interest rates, as well as an interest rate related to Morgan Stanley's secondary market credit spread.
The discount between the issue price and estimated value captures the embedded costs of structuring, hedging, and distributing the securities. Investors should recognize that this $22.70-per-security difference represents the cost of accessing the structured product features, including the auto-callable mechanism, participation rate leverage, and downside protection structure. The company's valuation models and assumptions regarding volatility and interest rate spreads directly influence the estimated value, though the filing does not disclose the specific volatility assumptions, interest rate inputs, or credit spread components used in this calculation.
Credit Risk and Guarantee Structure
The securities are unsecured obligations of Morgan Stanley Finance LLC and are fully and unconditionally guaranteed by Morgan Stanley, the parent company. This guarantee means that in the event of default by Morgan Stanley Finance LLC, investors have recourse to Morgan Stanley's creditworthiness and asset base. However, the securities are not secured by any underlying reference asset or assets, and investors have no security interest in, or access to, any collateral backing the obligations. All payments, including any early redemption or maturity payments, are subject to Morgan Stanley's credit risk.
The filing explicitly states that if Morgan Stanley defaults on its obligations, investors could lose some or all of their investment. The unsecured nature of the securities means that in a bankruptcy scenario, investors would be treated as unsecured creditors alongside other holders of Morgan Stanley's unsecured debt obligations. Unlike certain structured products backed by collateral pools, these securities depend entirely on Morgan Stanley's ability and willingness to meet its payment obligations at each determination date.
Principal at Risk Designation and Investor Suitability
The securities are explicitly designated as principal at risk securities, meaning investors must accept the possibility of losing their entire initial investment if adverse market conditions occur. The prospectus material emphasizes that these securities do not guarantee repayment of principal and do not provide for regular payment of interest, distinguishing them from traditional fixed-income instruments. Investors are targeted as those willing to forgo current income in exchange for the potential to receive payments exceeding the stated principal amount through early redemption or enhanced upside participation at maturity.
The suitability requirements restrict sales to fee-based advisory accounts, suggesting the securities are marketed to investors with ongoing professional advisory relationships who can evaluate the complex risk-return profile. The filing does not disclose specific investor demographics, risk tolerance thresholds, or suitability standards beyond the fee-based advisory account limitation. Investors considering these securities must understand and accept that downside declines exceeding 35% could result in principal losses, and declines exceeding 65% could eliminate entire invested amounts.
Terms and Conditions Spanning the Five-Year Investment Period
The investment term begins on the original issue date of July 22, 2026, and extends to the final maturity date of July 22, 2031, a period of exactly five years. The first determination date for evaluating the auto-callable trigger occurs on July 20, 2027, with an early redemption date of July 23, 2027, should conditions warrant early redemption. The final determination date for maturity payment calculations is scheduled for July 17, 2031, subject to postponement for non-trading days and certain market disruption events, with the actual maturity payment delivery occurring on July 22, 2031.
Both determination dates are subject to postponement if they fall on non-trading days or if market disruption events prevent orderly determination of closing levels for the basket components. The filing does not define the specific market disruption events that would trigger postponement or detail the mechanics of how postponement would be implemented. During the five-year holding period, investors receive no interim payments, coupon interest, or dividends, meaning the entire return depends on the basket's performance at the determination dates and the applicable payment formula tied to those specific measurement points.
Registration and Legal Framework
The securities are registered under Registration Statement Nos. 333-293641 and 333-293641-01 and are issued under Morgan Stanley Finance LLC's Series A Global Medium-Term Notes program. The pricing supplement, filed pursuant to SEC Rule 424(b)(2) on July 17, 2026, forms part of a comprehensive disclosure package including the product supplement dated April 8, 2026, index supplement dated April 8, 2026, tax supplement dated April 8, 2026, and prospectus dated April 8, 2026. These documents collectively describe the legal terms, tax implications, and general terms governing the securities.
The securities carry a CUSIP number of 61781G2H3 and an ISIN of US61781G2H32 for identification and settlement purposes. The filing notes that the securities will not be listed on any securities exchange, meaning they will trade only in the secondary market through dealers and brokers who participated in the distribution, if at all. The securities are not deposits or savings accounts and are not insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or any other governmental agency, a distinction required to be disclosed due to the structured product nature and the risks they carry compared to traditional bank deposits.
Risks and Protective Features Summary
Investors face multiple layers of risk including market risk tied to the basket components, credit risk tied to Morgan Stanley's solvency, timing risk concentrated around specific determination dates, and structural risk from the asymmetric payoff features. The participation rate of 171% creates leveraged upside but does not provide leverage on downside, meaning losses are not magnified proportionally. The downside threshold at 65% establishes a range where investors lose principal dollar-for-dollar with basket declines, providing limited protection compared to the upside potential.
The early redemption feature, while providing an exit mechanism if markets perform well, also represents an opportunity cost if the basket appreciates significantly beyond the 100% call level, as investors are capped at the $1,090 early redemption payment. The filing indicates that the securities involve risks not associated with ordinary debt securities and recommends investors read all accompanying documentation to understand the full scope of risks. The automatic redemption structure means investors cannot choose to extend their position if they believe further upside is available.




Please wait processing your request...