Key Highlights
- XIFR units traded up 1.59% at $9.88, with the 50-day moving average moving below the 200-day average.
- Second-quarter adjusted EBITDA was $523 million against $557 million a year earlier, and operating revenues rose to $363 million.
- Free cash flow before growth was $257 million, and 2026 guidance of $600 million to $700 million was reaffirmed.
- Net income attributable to the company was $38 million, against $79 million in the year-earlier quarter.
- Cash fell to $500 million from $960 million after the company repaid $500 million of convertible notes.
XPLR Infrastructure (NYSE:XIFR) units are trading up 1.59% at $9.88, and the stock's 50-day simple moving average has moved below its 200-day, a pattern technical analysts call a death cross. The company has a market capitalization of $1.91 billion.
The signal is derived from past prices and does not reflect operating results. XPLR Infrastructure owns a portfolio of contracted clean energy projects and is sponsored by NextEra Energy, and it reported second-quarter results on July 28.
Adjusted EBITDA and Net Income Fall as Revenue Climbs
Second-quarter adjusted EBITDA was $523 million, down from $557 million a year earlier, and the six-month figure was $958 million. Operating revenues rose to $363 million from $342 million.
Free cash flow before growth was $257 million, against $261 million in the second quarter of 2025, and $346 million for the first six months.
Net income attributable to the company was $38 million, down from $79 million a year earlier, and earnings per common unit were $0.40, against $0.84. Total net income, including noncontrolling interests, was $13 million.
The release does not state a distribution per unit or any change to distributions. Partner distributions in the first six months of 2026 were $35 million, down from $351 million in the same period of 2025.
Guidance Holds as Debt Is Reshaped
The company reaffirmed 2026 guidance for adjusted EBITDA of $1.75 billion to $1.95 billion and free cash flow before growth of $600 million to $700 million. The release does not state a run-rate figure, and guidance assumes the sale or transfer of the assets underlying XPLR Renewables III, known as CEPF 3.
In the quarter, the company fully repaid $500 million of convertible notes using available cash. Cash and equivalents were $500 million at June 30, against $960 million at the end of 2025.
The current portion of long-term debt fell to $120 million from $762 million, while long-term debt rose to $5.91 billion from $5.44 billion.
Repowering, Buyouts and Battery Storage Joint Ventures
About 50% of planned 2026 repowerings are complete. The company also completed the first minimum buyout of CEPF 5 for approximately $150 million.
It formed the Mammoth Plains Energy Storage and Carousel Energy Storage joint ventures under a battery storage co-investment agreement with NextEra Energy Resources, the sponsor affiliate. In July, the company completed the related sales of interconnection assets and rights.
The risk factors note that the company relies on credit support from NextEra Energy and that NextEra Energy Resources holds a right of first refusal that could affect future asset sales.
Signal Versus Cash Flow
The death cross reflects past price action, while the reported results show lower adjusted EBITDA and net income but stable free cash flow before growth and unchanged guidance. The next report will show whether adjusted EBITDA tracks toward the guided range, how the CEPF 3 transaction progresses and how debt maturities are managed. This review is limited to reported results and company guidance and does not assess valuation.






Please wait processing your request...